top of page
  • dnltso

Writer's Journal #13


So, let me get this straight. I have to compare and contrast invoked engagement with address audience? Also, I need to decipher for the audience why I engaged invoked instead of addressed? This is so confusing but I will try. Here goes my invoking experience.

First, here is my story where and how I invoked and addressed an audience, daily. So, when I worked as a construction supervisor for a steel erection company in Texas, I had to communicate company values, policies, and procedures to the workers. The majority of the time, they just nodded their heads and agreed, not communicating their thoughts. So, I thought everything was copacetic.

So, I had a new worker come in, and this guy was a lot more verbal and communicative. To my surprise, after his first meeting, he came aside and indicated that all the words I was using just flew over the other guy's heads. Admittedly, I was surprised but no one ever asked or thought to make a statement. With that in mind, I had to rethink how to engage my workers on changing my vocabulary and more of asking tone versus the statement.

After this realization, I had to record myself and listen to my convention of speaking engagement with my workers, and sure enough, I sounded like I was a company robot. Following this, I made adjustments to my morning meeting with my workers, and finally, I was using rhetorical simplicity to convey my messages. I had my workers slowly come out of their shells and engaging with me and this also addressed many issues and concerns.

To summarize, engagement with the audience in mind is a well-thought-out plan. At some point, we will engage in conversations or talks where we will need to adjust our tones, perspective, and so many other factors to make sure we are clear and concise about our message.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Les commentaires ont été désactivés.
bottom of page