top of page
  • dnltso

Writer's Journal #6

Updated: Apr 5, 2021

I welcome the challenges of the writing process. Maybe a bit cliché but I think anything well thought out with patience is well worth doing.

The writing process brings awareness and attention to the formality of literacy. It teaches us structure, thinking “outside the box” to view it from a different perspective. I have learned to internalize and make my writing a little more personal if you will. When you make it your own, you become more connected to the writing, In return, you become more critical and engaged in the whole process. Patience is one of my biggest virtue, so the time spent on each project or writing will also be labor-intensive.

Just like anything I approach in life, it is very intentional and driven with purpose. This type of attitude will serve me well for what is to come in my literacy adventures. To build habits is to be persistent and eventually, consistency will come into play. Practice is active while learning is passive and to become better writers, we will need to practice what we are learning from the writing process. I got this from a book I have read called “The Practicing Mind” By Thomas M. Sterner. This is a great book, he explains the value of appreciating the process and disconnecting from the goal.

I think where I would use the expanded process would be on thesis statement where it requires supporting material as opposed to writing in my gratitude journal. The expanded writing process requires some involvement to bring forth the idea to be shared with an audience or an assignment that requires a grade. Experience and time will give rationality to the process of writing.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Commenting has been turned off.
bottom of page